I see trees of green, red roses, too, I see them bloom, for me and you And I think to myself What a wonderful world.

I see skies of blue, and clouds of white, The bright blessed day, the dark sacred night And I think to myself What a wonderful  world.

The colors of the rainbow, so pretty in the sky, Are also on the faces of people going by. I see friends shaking hands, sayin’, “How do  you do?” They’re really sayin’, “I love you.”

I hear babies cryin’. I watch them grow. They’ll learn much more than I’ll ever know And I think to myself What a wonderful world

Yes, I think to myself What a wonderful world.

On Facebook, several of my friends are posting daily the things and people that they are grateful for. I tried that last year. I found myself resenting gratitude. That’s not the attitude I want for myself so today I asked myself, ‘Which song best represents gratitude to you?’ These lyrics, sung in Satchmo‘s dulcet tones, started playing in my mind.

The lyrics remind me of the beauty of the universe. The line which really strikes me is “the dark sacred night.” Sacred. The etymology describes sacred as “to make holy.” The night isn’t scary; it’s sacred.

When I toss a “how do you do?” to my friends walking by, I am acknowledging our friendship. I need to take the time, though, to stop and really listen to their responses. They are my friends and I love them.

About scribedscribbles

Like most people, I hate filling out profile pages. Who am I? Well, I’m a wife, teacher, daughter, and friend. I’m also an intellectual, an introvert, a night owl, and a bookworm. I work with struggling readers and overachievers, ages 11 to 15. I take care of students, a cat, two rabbits, friends, and my husband. I enjoy geocaching, reading, volksmarching, gardening, crocheting for charity, lecturing, science fiction, learning, and teaching. My favorite colors are blue, green, and purple. I am judgmental, dyslexic, sweet, overweight, graying, short, generous, loving, supportive, and chronically early to meetings. I’m afraid of snakes, putting my head underwater, heights, depths, and failure.

Leave a Reply

